Louisiana Dui information

DUI Law

Louisiana First Offender


You are DWI/DUI in Louisiana if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .10% or greater.


First Offense Penalties


Jail


10 days to 6 months. If you had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15% or higher, at least 48 hours of the sentence imposed will be served without benefit of parole, probation or suspension of sentence.


Fines/Fees


$300-$1000. Other Special Assessments/Surcharges: Victim's Restitution Fund, Chemical Test fee of $75 and additional $50 fee to defray cost of probation or incarceration.


Probation


Sentence can be suspended only if the following conditions of probation are met:


Two days imprisonment or 4 eight-hour days of community service (litter abatement or collection).
Participation in a court-approved substance abuse program (with screening to assess applicable and appropriate portions of the program) and driver improvement program.
If you had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15% or more, you must serve at least forty-eight hours of the sentence imposed without the benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence.
License Suspension


For first offense: Mandatory 90 days (180 days if you are under 21) without eligibility for hardship license for the first 30 days. Reinstatement Fee: $50.


Mandatory Minimums


For 1st offenses, some or all of the mandatory minimums can be abated by participation in substance abuse and driver improvement programs, combined with community service.


Restricted Hardship License


Eligibility is for first offense DWI only. Restricted (Hardship) Licenses will designate times and routes over which the driver will be permitted to operate a motor vehicle; will have a large "R" on the front of the license and cost $50 dollars plus license cost.


If you violate these restrictions, you will be subject to cancellation and seizure of the restricted license and shall have no driving privileges for a period of six months.


Test Refusal


For a first refusal to submit to breath or blood alcohol test, the license suspension is 180 days without eligibility for hardship license for the first 90 days.


Under 21


You are DUI if your BAC is .02% or more. If your BAC is found to be 0.10% or greater you are subject to the same penalties as persons twenty-one and over who commit the crime of driving under the influence (see above).


First offenders under 21 usually face a fine of $100-$250 and must participate in a court-approved substance abuse and driver improvement program.


Are you Really a First Offender?


In Louisiana the period of time in which a judge can review an offender's record (the "look-back" period) is 10 years. For licensing actions the administrative "look-back" period is 5 years.


Insurance


Your insurance rates will probably climb considerably, and your insurance carrier may drop you. The rates for family members and sometimes your employer can increase as well.


More Serious Charges


You may be charged with felony DUI (possibly leading to much greater penalties) if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.

Related listings

  • Kentucky DUI laws and Information

    Kentucky DUI laws and Information

    DUI Law 08/23/2014

    You Are DUI When: When your blood alcohol content (BAC) is.08 or higher, you are DUI in Kentucky. The test must be given within 2 hours of operation of motor vehicle for results to be admitted into evidence in DUI prosecutions. Operators can be convi...

  • Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    DUI Law 08/23/2014

    Iowa First Offender You are OWI (Operating While Intoxicated ) in Iowa if your blood alcohol content BAC) is 08% or higher. First Offense Penalties OWI is a serious misdemeanor punishable by: Jail: Up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000, or both...

  • DUI offenders in Indiana

    DUI offenders in Indiana

    DUI Law 08/23/2013

    Indiana First Offender You are OWI in Indiana if you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater. The limit is 04% for commercial drivers license (CDL) holders and .02% for those under 21. The first offense is a misdemeanor. Legal limit is ....

Illinois Work Injury Lawyers – Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD.

Accidents in the workplace are often caused by unsafe work conditions arising from ignoring safety rules, overlooking maintenance or other negligence of those in management. While we are one of the largest firms in Illinois dedicated solely to the representation of injured workers, we pride ourselves on the personal, one-on-one approach we deliver to each client.

Work accidents can cause serious injuries and sometimes permanent damage. Some extremely serious work injuries can permanently hinder a person’s ability to get around and continue their daily duties. Factors that affect one’s quality of life such as place of work, relationships with friends and family, and social standing can all be taken away quickly by a work injury. Although, you may not be able to recover all of your losses, you may be entitled to compensation as a result of your work injury. Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD. provides informed advocacy in all kinds of workers’ compensation claims, including:

• Injuries to the back and neck, including severe spinal cord injuries
• Serious head injuries
• Heart problems resulting from workplace activities
• Injuries to the knees, elbows, shoulders and other joints
• Injuries caused by repetitive movements

For Illinois Workers’ Compensation claims, you will ALWAYS cheat yourself if you do not hire an experienced attorney. When you hire Krol, Bongiorno & Given, Ltd, you will have someone to guide you through the process, and when it is time to settle, we will add value to your case IN EXCESS of our fee. In the last few years, employers and insurance carriers have sought to advance the argument that when you settle a case without an attorney, your already low settlement should be further reduced by 20% so that you do not get a “windfall.” Representing yourself in Illinois is a lose-lose proposition.

Business News

New York Adoption Lawyers Rosin Steinhagen Mendel is a law firm dedicated to serving our clients in New York City. >> read
Chicago Work Accident Lawyers at Krol, Bongiorno & Given have been a leader in the field of workers' compensation law. >> read