Kansas DUI Information and Laws

DUI Law

Kansas First Offender


You are DUI in Kansas if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is above .08%.


Dui First Offense Penalties:


Jail


48 consecutive hours up to a maximum six (6) months imprisonment, or 100 hours of community service.


Fine/Fees


$500.00 to $1,000.00, plus there is a $150.00 for an alcohol evaluation and another $150 alcohol information school fee. These are separate from the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Education Program fee noted below. Court costs may also be between $10.00 and $100.00.


Probation


Probation is possible only after you have served at least 48 hours. The terms of probation are just like the terms of diversion: no drinking, do not break the law, go to alcohol school (see Diversion below).


Suspension


Driving privileges are suspended for 30 days and restricted to driving to and from work, during the course of employment, and to school for 330 days. The reinstatement fee is $100.00. There are no hardships or exemptions available. This suspension goes on your driving record.


Test Refusal


Driving privileges are suspended for one year. The reinstatement fee is $400.00.


Diversion


If you have had no DUI or diversion in the last five years, and no accident or injury occurred, you may be a candidate for diversion. Diversion is an agreement or contract between you and the prosecutor in which you agree to accept responsibility for the crime, agree not to violate any laws for one year, not to drink alcohol for one year, not to go to places that serve alcohol (except sporting events and restaurants), and to take random urine samples to insure compliance. You must also attend at least an eight hour alcohol education class, a two hour DUI Victims Panel, and do anything else requested by your alcohol counselor or diversion coordinator. Through diversion, you admit guilt, but are not formally convicted. If you successfully fulfill these requirements, the charges will be dismissed after a year.


Please note that you could still have your driving privileges suspended in the administrative license proceedings.


Commercial Drivers


You are DUI if your BAC is .04% or higher. A first violation is a misdemeanor with a sentence of not less than forty-eight consecutive hours in jail or more than six months and a fine of not less than $200 or more than $500, in addition to penalties that would apply to the DUI law for non-commercial drivers.


A commercial driver will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for not less than one year on the first occurrence.


Under 21


If you are under the age of 21 and your BAC is .08% or higher, your license may be suspended for one year. If you are under the age of 21 and test between .02% and .08%, your license may be suspended for 30 days and restricted for 330 days afterwards. If you refuse a test, your driving privileges may be suspended for one year. If you enter a diversion program, your driving privileges will be suspended for the length of the diversion (usually 12 months).


Alcohol School


You must complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Education Program or an approved treatment program. Cost is generally $150.00.

Related listings

  • Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    DUI Law 08/23/2014

    Iowa First Offender You are OWI (Operating While Intoxicated ) in Iowa if your blood alcohol content BAC) is 08% or higher. First Offense Penalties OWI is a serious misdemeanor punishable by: Jail: Up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000, or both...

  • DUI offenders in Indiana

    DUI offenders in Indiana

    DUI Law 08/23/2013

    Indiana First Offender You are OWI in Indiana if you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater. The limit is 04% for commercial drivers license (CDL) holders and .02% for those under 21. The first offense is a misdemeanor. Legal limit is ....

  • Idaho DUI laws and information

    Idaho DUI laws and information

    DUI Law 08/23/2012

    Idaho First Offender You are DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over .08%. Any individual who has a .08 or higher BAC result on the breathalyzer may receive a notice of suspension and have his or her driver's license seized on the spot by the...

Illinois Work Injury Lawyers – Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD.

Accidents in the workplace are often caused by unsafe work conditions arising from ignoring safety rules, overlooking maintenance or other negligence of those in management. While we are one of the largest firms in Illinois dedicated solely to the representation of injured workers, we pride ourselves on the personal, one-on-one approach we deliver to each client.

Work accidents can cause serious injuries and sometimes permanent damage. Some extremely serious work injuries can permanently hinder a person’s ability to get around and continue their daily duties. Factors that affect one’s quality of life such as place of work, relationships with friends and family, and social standing can all be taken away quickly by a work injury. Although, you may not be able to recover all of your losses, you may be entitled to compensation as a result of your work injury. Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD. provides informed advocacy in all kinds of workers’ compensation claims, including:

• Injuries to the back and neck, including severe spinal cord injuries
• Serious head injuries
• Heart problems resulting from workplace activities
• Injuries to the knees, elbows, shoulders and other joints
• Injuries caused by repetitive movements

For Illinois Workers’ Compensation claims, you will ALWAYS cheat yourself if you do not hire an experienced attorney. When you hire Krol, Bongiorno & Given, Ltd, you will have someone to guide you through the process, and when it is time to settle, we will add value to your case IN EXCESS of our fee. In the last few years, employers and insurance carriers have sought to advance the argument that when you settle a case without an attorney, your already low settlement should be further reduced by 20% so that you do not get a “windfall.” Representing yourself in Illinois is a lose-lose proposition.

Business News

New York Adoption Lawyers Rosin Steinhagen Mendel is a law firm dedicated to serving our clients in New York City. >> read
Chicago Work Accident Lawyers at Krol, Bongiorno & Given have been a leader in the field of workers' compensation law. >> read